Apple event: New iPhone, more to be unveiled in September

Apple starts sending launch invites for its next-gen iPhones on 10 September

And hey, the Apple TV is due for an upgrade too - the 4K came out 2 years ago. The event kicks off at 10 AM PT / 12 PM CST / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST at the Steve Jobs Theatre in Cupertino. As you can see, the artwork says "By Innovation Only" with a unique iteration of Apple logo. Wednesday of that week would normally have been Apple's go-to day for its big iPhone press conference, but that Wednesday happens to fall on September 11th this year. Moreover, we expect the new lineup to make use of the lightning port and not the expected Type-C port. Pretty much everything has leaked at this point, though the names of the new phones are still somewhat up in the air; multiple independent reports suggest that the phones will be called the iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max. The Pro models will get triple camera systems with an ultra-wide-angle lens, the cheaper one will just have two.

Apple announced today that it will supply more third-party iPhone fix shops with genuine parts, tools, training and more.

But Apple admitted in the iOS 12.1 release notes that the performance management feature will be turned on for its latest iPhone models - many of which users have only owned for a year or less. Earlier this month, we discovered that people are running into problems with third-party iPhone XR, iPhone XS, and iPhone XS Max repairs due to a particular chip on the battery.

In addition, they might sport reverse inductive wireless charging, allowing them to send power to another device, like the AirPods wireless charging case. And they might be first phones to use a new Apple Pencil. Apple has now announced the official iPhone announcement event which is scheduled on September 10.

Related:

Comments

Latest news

Arsenal boss Emery: I'm happy Luiz with us
While some rumours claim that he could be dropped but we think otherwise. I've seen things today from Arsenal that I quite like.

Brazil governors push Bolsonaro to accept aid
She also argued that "economic sanctions" should be imposed on Brazil to force it to change its environmental policies. But she questioned the surge of worldwide concern and aid offers this year, saying fires have been common in the past.

China hints may not retaliate for latest U.S. tariff hike
Brian Levitt, the US senior director for investment strategy at Invesco, told Sozzi that it depends on an investor's time horizon. Trump tweeted that the $250 BN of Chinese products and items will see an increment of tax from current 25% to new 30%.

Sri Lanka to bat in second test against New Zealand
The New Zealanders batted for 25 minutes earlier Monday before declaring at 431-6, having added 49 to their overnight total. Opener Lahiru Thirimanne batted for about an hour before being dismissed by off-spinner William Somerville , for two.

Other news