But here's the thing: it was a practice swing, so the shot doesn't count.
But there was Zach Johnson on the 13th tee on Friday, preparing to his his tee shot when one of his practice swings accidentally hit the ball.
As Johnson's group informed him, there was no penalty for the weird gaffe because it clearly happened while he was taking a practice swing.
As he prepared to hit his tee shot at the dogleg par 5, Johnson did his usual pre-shot routine where his driver gets a little too close to the ball, at least that's how it seems to us mere mortals.
Johnson had fun with the incident, giving people on the tee box permission to laugh because, as he said, "That's embarrassing". "But now I know I've done it all".
Under United States Golf Association rules, a ball isn't considered to be "in play" until it's actually hit from the tee area. "Maybe I've tried to do it, but I don't think I could do it again even if I tried".
Johnson ended his second round with a 73, a slight improvement over his day-one score of 74, as he aims for a repeat of his Masters-winning performance 12 years ago. After checking with fellow players Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, the American was able to amble over to the rather sad looking ball, pick it up and tee it up for a second time, taking no penalty in the process due to not having addressed the ball in an intentional manner.
"I didn't see it, but I heard it. Zach's eyes were as big as I've ever seen them".
Kevin Kisner, who was playing in the group in front of Johnson, said he'd never done it in a competitive round.
Costa banned for 8 games for insulting referee
The Rojiblancos themselves were handed a £2 400 (R44 000) fine for the incident, while Costa was fined £5 178 (R94 800). Atletico Madrid striker Diego Costa has been banned for eight games after being found guilty of abusing a referee.
Black hole image released by scientists in world first
The project has also targeted another black hole - Sagittarius A* - situated at the center of our own Milky Way galaxy. Outside scientists suggested the achievement could be worthy of a Nobel, just like the gravitational wave discovery.
Japanese F-35 Fighter Jet Crashes into the Pacific
The crashed aircraft was the fifth delivered to the ASDF, but the first to be assembled by Japan's Mitsubishi Heavy Industries. There was no word yet on the fate of the single pilot on board the jet, Defence Minister Takeshi Iwaya said yesterday.