Facebook introduces new facial recognition and privacy features

Facebook introduces new facial recognition and privacy features

This would allow Facebook to implement more features that use facial recognition, such as account recovery, though that remains to be seen.

Sherman said that facial recognition has many positive uses, but he conceded that the technology can also be used "in concerning ways".

Managing your identity on Facebook will soon be a bit easier thanks to facial recognition. If you're a little sensitive about how often you show up in pics on the internet, Facebook has a new privacy tool that may interest you.

Don't freak out - it's a feature, not a bug.

Facebook will let you know when someone posts a photo of you - even if you aren't tagged in it - becoming the latest tech giant to add more facial recognition technology into users' everyday lives. The good news here is that you do not have to be friends with someone for Photo Review to kick in - so long as you have friends in common, you will be notified. Or, concerned that someone might use your image as their profile photo and catfish people?

The new feature, which Facebook frames as a control measure for a user's image, is one of three new applications of facial recognition technology the company announced Tuesday.

You control whether Facebook can recognize you in photos and videos.

These new additions expand on how Facebook already uses facial recognition, which is primarily through "tag suggestions" - a feature started in 2010 that suggests which of your friends should be tagged in photos that you upload to the site. In fact, that's put Facebook afoul of state laws and using this technology is outright banned in Canada and Europe. The objective of the scanning, according to Facebook, is to alert you if someone has publicly uploaded a photo of you that you don't know about, especially if they are trying to impersonate you. When photos and videos are uploaded to Facebook, they are compared to images in the template to determine if there is a match. Facebook users should be notified through the news feeds about the new feature, and the company will encourage everyone to check their own settings.

"I can also confirm that we do not use this technology in People You May Know". These settings boil down to Facebook demanding forgiveness after refusing to ask for permission, and it may not sit well with users.

Related:

Comments

Latest news

Chrome ad blocker goes live in February
This program attempts to define standards for online advertising, recommending against some of the more annoying ones. Google will notify websites that contain these ads of a potential blocking through its Ad Experience Report tool .

Sen. John McCain Returns Home to Arizona Following Hospitalization
McCain, 81, was admitted to the hospital for what is office called "normal side effects" of his cancer treatment last week. McCain's vote scuttled the seven-year effort by the GOP to dismantle much of President Barack Obama's health care law.

Facebook Announces Initiative to Crack Down on 'Engagement Bait'
Facebook announced the update in a blog post on Monday, where they claimed to have received complaints about "spammy posts". In the past, Facebook has made similar efforts to demote clickbait headlines and links to "low-quality websites".

Rob Lowe shows his gratitude to Southern California firefighters during wildfires
The progress allowed some evacuation orders to be lifted, although both mandatory and voluntary orders remain in place. Additional evacuations were ordered Friday morning as the fires swept through Ventura and Santa Barbara counties.

Other news